Cold

 The weather outside is cold, tolerable but cold. This means the birds will soon be here. I love waking up in the morning and firing up the old diesel and listening to it chug as it roars to life. I push snow in the winter with my truck and i love doing it. Where else can you make sixty bucks an hour and sit on your can. I can also multi task while pushing. while i’m out on call i look for ducks and geese. I figure out which way they’re flying and what holes their hitting up.

  Hunting when it is this cold out can be dangerous. A person must be prepared at all times. One wrong step and you can be over your head in sub-zero water with no help in sight. I keep an extra change of cloths close to me at all times. A heating element or pad and a space blanket is also kept handy. you never know what to expect while hunting so I try to stay prepared. If you go into the field and something happens and you’re not prepared, its life or death. As I found out this weekend you suffer miserably if you’re not prepared. I under dressed and froze my ass off all day and there was absolutely nothing I can do about it. I realised , i’m not proving anything to anyone sitting here under dressed freezing to death. It makes the hunt so much more fun and enjoyable if you’re nice and warm.

About Abe Shelley

I like to hunt, fish, trap ...basically anything outdoors. I am attending Vincennes U majoring in Conservation Law
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment